Thursday, July 31, 2014

Ravangla gears up for Pang Lhabsol celebrations

GANGTOK, July 29: Ravangla in South Sikkim is gearing up to celebrate the festival of unity and brotherhood, Pang Lhabsol, with an array of cultural and sporting events in the first and second week of September 2014. A meeting was held today which was presided by Minister for Power, Energy and Labour department, DD Bhutia and also the area MLA, Barfung constituency. The meeting discussed different agendas and finalized the names of office bearers of the new celebration committee and sub committees.
Area MLA DD Bhutia will be the chief patron of the committee while ADC (Development), Ravangla, Tashi Chopel Bhutia has been made the chairman of the celebration committee with SDM Ravangla, BK Rai as the vice chairman of the committee.
CL Gurung and Passang Sherpa are appointed as advisors of the committee. Tashi Thendup Bhutia, Sarita Thatal and Rinzing Bhutia have been given the responsibility of general secretaries, Zigmee D. Bhutia and Pema Bhutia as publicity secretaries while Manoj Khandelwal and Tashi Tshering Bhutia are appointed as treasurers.
The meeting also appointed Nim Pintso Bhutia and Karma Dadul Bhutia as sports secretaries, Gram Vikas Adhikari (Ravangla) Sangam Rai, Dechen Bhutia and Pradeep Gurung in the cultural committee while the Gumpa committee consists of Norden Sangderpa and Sonam Wangyal Bhutia.
Publicity secretary Zigmee D. Bhutia informed that the main attraction in this year's Pang Lhabsol celebration at Ravangla will be the volleyball tournament which will be organized in two categories, open category and intra Sikkim category with attractive cash prizes and trophies.
The cultural programmes, monsoon marathon, mountain biking, photo exhibition, rural sports, musical nights will be the other attractions, Mr Bhutia added. All the events will be held at Maney Chokerling Monastery premises where the traditional Chaam will also be held along with other rituals. This festival is celebrated in a grand manner mainly in Gangtok in the East and Ravangla in South district.
The winners of the Open Volleyball tournament will be awarded with a cash prize of Rs. 1,50,000 and Rs 50,000 for the runners up whereas in the Intra Sikkim category the winners will be awarded Rs 1 lakh and the runners up will get Rs 50,000 along with attractive trophies.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Readers are invited to comment on, criticise, run down, even appreciate if they like something in this blog. Comments carrying abusive/ indecorous language and personal attacks, except when against the people working on this blog, will be deleted. It will be exciting for all to enjoy some earnest debates on this blog...