Thursday, August 28, 2014

Rangang-Yangang bye-poll attracts the most number of candidates this election

Pictures & Profile of Candidates filing their Nominations for bye-elections of 15-Rangang Yangang Assembly Constituency on 27th August, 2014 in the ROs (South) office, Namchi

NAMCHI, 27 Aug: Seven candidates have filed their nominations for the bye-elections of the Rangang-Yangang assembly constituency in South Sikkim. If there are no withdrawals this will be the highest number of candidates to contest from a constituency this election. Upper Burtuk had the maximum - six candidates - in the elections held in April. All seven nominations were filed Wednesday, the last day to be able to do so. While there are three candidates representing political parties, four are Independents. Sikkim Krantikari Morcha is not contesting the bye-election and is supporting the BJP.
Interestingly, this will also be a contest among reasonably young candidates with independent candidate Rup Narayan Chamling, at 46, checking in as the oldest among the seven candidates. BJP’s Bikash Basnet, at 26 is the youngest, while SDF’s Kumari Mangar aged 32 years.
In the first hour of the final day for filing nominations today, SDF candidate Kumari Mangar submitted her nomination papers to the Returning Officer, District Collector [South] Prabhakar Verma.
Next, later in the afternoon, the second nomination was filed by BJP candidate Bikash Basnett who had contested the elections from Rangang-Yangang on an SKM ticket in April earlier this year. It may also be mentioned that BJP did not field any candidate from this constituency in the elections held in April; and this time, SKM is stepping down. Mr. Basnet had resigned from SKM last Friday and his name as the BJP candidate was announced yesterday, Tuesday.
Bishnu Prasad Adhikari of Congress and four Independent candidates, Rup Narayan Chamling, Dipak Kumar Chettri, Sancha Raj Limboo and Gauri Prasad Chettri also filed their nominations today.
The candidates took an oath in the presence of RO (South), Mr Verma, ARO/ADC (South) Kapil Meena, ARO/ ADC (Dev) Benu Gurung and their nominations will be accepted by the RO only after formal scrutiny of all the documents. The scrutiny of the documents will start on Thursday at the RO Office 11 a.m. onwards. Meanwhile, the last date for submitting Form 12 for postal ballot is 28 August at the RO Office.
The candidates were also briefed by the RO on maintaining election expenditure account and they were asked to maintain an Accounts Register for the same.
The election duty for all the field officers and staff deployed for Rangang Yangang Assembly Constituency has commenced in South district.
Rangang-Yangang has 11,762 registered voters and the voter turnout in the last election was 85% with 9,976 casting their votes. Chief Minister Pawan Chamling had won the election polling 6,343 votes against Bikash Basnett who polled 3,201 votes. In Aril, the Congress had fielded Om Prakash Bista, making it a three-cornered contest.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Readers are invited to comment on, criticise, run down, even appreciate if they like something in this blog. Comments carrying abusive/ indecorous language and personal attacks, except when against the people working on this blog, will be deleted. It will be exciting for all to enjoy some earnest debates on this blog...