Wednesday, September 16, 2015

29 in fray for South Sikkim’s 14 municipal wards

Namchi, 16 Sept [IPR]: A total of 28 candidates from SDF and SKM filed their nominations today to contest from the two municipal bodies going to polls in South Sikkim. Independent candidate Selena Rai had filed in her nomination on 15 September 2015.
The first hour of the final day of the nomination procedure for municipal elections saw SDF and SKM candidates from Namchi Municipal Council and Nayabazaar Jorethang Municipal Council filing their nominations in the chamber of Municipal Returning Officer, District Collector Raj Yadav today.
For SDF, Diki Lhamu Bhutia of Upper Ghurpisey; Khusbho Varma of Gangyap; Kamal Kumar Chhetri of Dambudara; Suman Rai of Lower Ghurpisey; Tulsa Devi Thatal of Upper Boomtar; Uday Chandra Rai of  Upper Singithang and Bandana Rai of Purano Namchi filed their nominations during the first day.
Similarly, Bharat Gupta of Shantinagar; Ganesh Adhikari of Trikaleshwar; Pema Tamang of Daragoan; Tika Gurung of Majhigaon East; Pinky Shilal of Majhigaon West; Purnima Pradhan of Sisney Nayabazaar-B and Pabitra Rai of Sisney Nayabazar-A all filed their nominations during the second half of the day.
The second half of the final day of the nomination procedure saw SKM candidates filing their nominations. The SKM candidates are Reena Lepcha of Daragaon; Chanda Tamang of Sisney Nayabazaar-B; Sunil Kumar Gupta of Shantinagar; Rosila Kami of Majhigaon West; Lakshmi Prasad Sharma of Trikaleshwar; David Gurung of Majhigaon East; Shyam Kumari Rai of Sisney Nayabazaar-A; Sujata Rai of Sisney Nayabazaar-A.
Prem Raj Gurung of Upper Singithang; Narendra Chettri of Dambudara; Pema Bhutia of Upper Ghurpisey; Azima Shanaz of Gangyap; Milan Rai of Lower Ghurpisey; Neetu Baraily of Upper Boomtar and Sanjukta Rai of Purano Namchi filed their nominations for Namchi Municipal Council. 
The candidates completed the nomination filing procedure in the presence of MRO/ DC (South), Raj Yadav, AMRO/ADC (South), Karma Bonpo, Sector Magistrate-Namchi Municipal Council, Ragul K and Sector Magistrate-Nayabazaar Jorethang Municipal Council, Tenzing D. Bhutia.
It may be mentioned here that the nominations of the candidates will be accepted by the MRO only after formal scrutiny of all the documents. The scrutiny of the documents will start tomorrow at the MRO Office’s from 11 a.m. onwards.
The election duty for all the field officers and staff deployed for Namchi Municipal and Nayabazaar Jorethang Municipal Elections have commenced in South district.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Readers are invited to comment on, criticise, run down, even appreciate if they like something in this blog. Comments carrying abusive/ indecorous language and personal attacks, except when against the people working on this blog, will be deleted. It will be exciting for all to enjoy some earnest debates on this blog...